Trumbull farmer elected to Soybean Board

Doug Saathoff of Trumbull was elected to the Nebraska Soybean Board (NTV News)

A Trumbull farmer has been elected to the Nebraska Soybean Board.

Doug Saathoff of Adams County will join the board.

He was elected over Cecil Schriner of Hildreth.

The Nebraska Soybean Board held an election in July for the Director Seats in District 5, 7 and At-Large.

In District 5 (Counties of Cass, Johnson, Lancaster, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee and Richardson) Daryl Obermeyer of Nemaha County was re-elected.

In the at large bid, Greg Anderson of Madison County will begin his second term on the board.

“A special thank you to all the candidates who took time out of their busy schedule to run in this year’s election. The two returning directors and one new director will continue to face the many challenges and seek opportunities that will benefit all soybean farmers in Nebraska,” said Victor Bohuslavsky, Nebraska Soybean Board executive director.

The elected directors will serve a three-year term beginning October 1, 2017 and ending September 30, 2020.

The nine-member Nebraska Soybean Board collects and disburses the Nebraska share of funds generated by the one half of one percent times the net sales price per bushel of soybeans sold. Nebraska soybean checkoff funds are invested in research, education, domestic and foreign markets, including new uses for soybeans and soybean products.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off