Achtermann headlines NCBWA Central Region team

Loper junior Alex Achtermann hits a single to center field for UNK in an April 11, 2018 contest at Memorial Field in Kearney, Neb.

Nebraska-Kearney junior Alex Achtermann made the most of his single season with UNK baseball.

The Coloradoan, who started as a pitcher, first baseman, at third base, in right field, and as a designated hitter, was named the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Central Region Player of the Year and a first-team choice as a utility player.

This comes on the heels of winning the MIAA Player of the Year designation following a season in which he hit .413 with 15 home runs, 13 doubles and 57 RBI's. His .714 slugging percentage helped Achtermann to 147 total bases, 12th best in Division II. He was also top 50 in home runs (33), RBI (41) and slugging (38).

The right-handed pitcher threw 62.2 innings and had 55 strikeouts with a 6-1 record in his 11 starts.

Fellow Lopers Brandon Hernandez and Brett Young were also listed to the NCBWA All-Central Region team.

Hernandez was a first-team selection in the outfield after leading Division II with his 27 doubles on his way to 92 hits, the second most in DII and a .383 batting average. The junior started all 52 games and set a single season record with his doubles, tied the school mark in hits, and his 240 at-bats set a high water mark for the soon-to-be defunct program.

Young, another junior who doesn't get the chance to close out his career in Kearney, was an honorable mention outfielder. The Lodi, Cali. native opened the Lopers final season at home with a home run in his lead-off at-bat for the Lopers.

Young finished his season with 14 doubles, 62 hits, 11 home runs and a .356 batting average. Young ranked 13th in DII with his 1.26 runs per game and was 80th with the 53 runs scored in his 42 starts.

2018 NCBWA Division II All-Central Region Team

Central Region Player of the Year: Alex Achtermann, Nebraska Kearney, Junior

Central Region Pitcher of the Year: Gus Varland, Concordia-St. Paul, Junior

Central Region Coach of the Year: Scott Eul, Minot State

Starting Pitchers

First Team: Gus Varland, Concordia-St. Paul, Junior; Seth Holman, Emporia State, Senior; Bryant Haralson, Henderson State, Senior

Second Team: Jacob Blank, Augustana, Senior; Hunter Vasquez, Southern Arkansas, Senior; Tyler Mitzel, Augustana, Senior

Honorable Mention: Dalton Roach, Minnesota State, Senior; Dominic Austin, St. Cloud State, Junior; Louie Varland, Concordia-St. Paul, Sophomore

Relief Pitchers

First Team: Taylor Langston, Henderson State, Junior

Second Team: Trevor Dudar, Northwest Missouri State, Junior

Honorable Mention: Zach Reeg, Augustana, Senior; Eric White, Southern Arkansas, Junior


First Team: Hudson Bilodeau, Northwest Missouri State, Senior

Second Team: Hunter Hisky, Southwest Baptist, Junior

Honorable Mention: Bo Schmitz, St. Cloud State, Senior; Juan Gonzalez, Oklahoma Baptist, Senior

First Base

First Team: Reed Hjelle, Minnesota Crookston, Sophomore

Second Team: Collin Nevil, Central Missouri, Senior

Honorable Mention: Sean Wagner, Arkansas-Monticello, Senior

Second Base

First Team: Andres Rios, Arkansas-Monticello, Senior

Second Team: Dallas Reed, Pittsburg State, Senior

Honorable Mention: Kyle Miskovsky, Central Oklahoma, Senior

Third Base

First Team: Jacob Richardson, Southern Arkansas, Senior

Second Team: Zane Gelphman, Oklahoma Baptist, Senior

Honorable Mention: Drew Quinones, Lindenwood, Senior


First Team: Alex Pimentel, Southwestern Oklahoma State, Junior

Second Team: Colton Pogue, Pittsburg State, Senior

Honorable Mention: Sam Baier, Augustana, Sophomore


First Team: Bryce Fischer, Emporia State, Senior; Jack Schmidt, Northern State, Senior; Brandon Hernandez, Nebraska Kearney, Junior

Second Team: Jake Gozzo, Oklahoma Baptist, Junior; Brian Ray, Arkansas Monticello, Senior; Eric Webb, Central Missouri, Sophomore

Honorable Mention: Mitch Mallek, St. Cloud State, Junior; Brett Young, Nebraska-Kearney, Junior

Designated Hitter

First Team: Reece Garvie, Pittsburg State, Junior

Second Team: Jake Tisevich, Southern Arkansas, Senior

Honorable Mention: Celestino Rodriguez, Minot State, Junior; Bryce Bisenius, Wayne State, Sophomore

Utility Player

First Team: Alex Achtermann, Nebraska-Kearney, Junior

Second Team: Brady Weiss, Arkansas-Monticello, Senior; Josh Crosby, Washburn, Senior

Honorable Mention: Grant Guest, Harding, Senior

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off